Re: Is GNATS broken ??

From: Vahe Khachikyan (vahe_at_khachikyan.de)
Date: 06/29/03

  • Next message: Ruslan Ermilov: "Re: Is GNATS broken ??"
    To: "FreeBSD Hackers" <freebsd-hackers@freebsd.org>
    Date: Sun, 29 Jun 2003 02:18:01 +0200
    
    

    > At 01:45 29/06/2003 +0200, Vahe Khachikyan wrote:
    > >Nop it didn't show up in PR list.
    > >I use http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/query-pr-summary.cgi?query
    > >to query PR database. And I didn't get any ticket number per email.
    > >
    > >Any ideas ?
    >
    > Can you check if the mail was accepted by the FreeBSD mail server? It
    > looks like GNATS email is rather aggressively filtered against server
    > blacklists; I have to route all my PRs through an SSH tunnel to a
    different
    > system in order to get them accepted.
    >
    I am on a DSL == Dial UP link, so my external hostname/address changes
    dynamically and probably looks not ggod enought for a mail server.
    However:
    For the first PR which I've submitted five days ago the sendmai log show up
    something
    like "Message accepted for delivery" prefixed with an unique message ID
    which was assigned
    by the mail server at the FreeBSD site.

    After not getting any autoresponse from GNATS I reconfigured today my
    sendmail
    to send mails throught my ISP's official relay "smtp.1und1.com".

    The only thing that I can tell about second mail, is that the message was
    accepted from
    my ISP's mail relay and even a CC copy was delivered to my second mail
    account.

    Surely if the whole IP subnet, including official smtp relay, of my ISP is
    in
    some blacklist then I should try to send the PR from somwhere else ....
    (have no idea from where Brrrrrr....)

    Who knows whether the mentioned server is in blacklist ?

    Thanks

    --
    Vahe
    ---
    _______________________________________________
    freebsd-hackers@freebsd.org mailing list
    http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-hackers
    To unsubscribe, send any mail to "freebsd-hackers-unsubscribe@freebsd.org"
    

  • Next message: Ruslan Ermilov: "Re: Is GNATS broken ??"

    Relevant Pages

    • Re: Ouch! My SBS got hacked! Please help me not be a spammer
      ... With any mail server, the first thing to check is not a Windows virus. ... You should be checking your SMTP _relay_ settings. ... I have eTrust Anti Virus Version: 7.0.139 running with the latest signatures on SBS and all the other client computers. ...
      (microsoft.public.windows.server.sbs)
    • Re: Stopping Spam
      ... the real time blacklists and sender blocking up to date. ... is that your mail server is contacted by another mail server that ... The work in maintaining blacklists is done by the blacklist providers, ... but anyone who opts for a Microsoft-based mail ...
      (uk.legal)
    • Re: DNS / ISA and Exchange issue
      ... This is neither ISA nor DNS. ... The key to this is the error message: ... The mail server is not configured to accept mail for smtp.ourdomain.com. ... to relay for mir@smtp.ourdomain.com (in reply to RCPT TO ...
      (microsoft.public.isa.configuration)
    • Re: Growing SMTP queue to random domains
      ... Spam Marshall. ... > The only knowledge base article I could find describes this problem ... > only if the mail server is open for relay or is on a black list of some ... The servers that are experiencing this issue are not open for relay ...
      (microsoft.public.exchange.admin)
    • Re: MX & A Records for Dual Domain Smtp Host
      ... Relay is for outgoing mail and doesn't require an MX record. ... outgoing email to another mail server. ... Here is a good article I found that discusses where to look in your config ...
      (microsoft.public.windows.server.dns)