Re: mx2.freebsd.org in dnsbl.sorbs.net
From: Miguel Mendez (flynn_at_energyhq.es.eu.org)
Date: 02/02/05
- Previous message: Mark Ovens: "Re: Booting FreeBSD-5.3 from NTLDR"
- In reply to: Erik Norgaard: "mx2.freebsd.org in dnsbl.sorbs.net"
- Next in thread: Erik Norgaard: "Re: mx2.freebsd.org in dnsbl.sorbs.net"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
Date: Wed, 2 Feb 2005 17:08:53 +0100 To: Erik Norgaard <norgaard@locolomo.org>
On Wed, 02 Feb 2005 16:37:40 +0100
Erik Norgaard <norgaard@locolomo.org> wrote:
Hi Erik,
> I have been thrown off the list because of too many bounces, turns out
>
> that mx2.freebsd.org has been listed at dnslb.sorbs.net,
>
> $ host 119.204.136.216.dnsbl.sorbs.net
> 119.204.136.216.dnsbl.sorbs.net has address 127.0.0.6
>
> How on earth did it end up there? are someone mad at us? mx1 is not
> listed, but it appears that most list mail comes from mx2...
>
> I have had other problems trying to filter spam, yet recieve
> legitimate mail on the lists - I'm using postfix. How do you set up
> your filters?
Have you contacted postmaster@freebsd.org? He should get in contact with
SORBS and get the host delisted. My theory about how mx2 ended up there:
Maybe somebody has an automated spam submitting system and SORBS parsed
the addresses of one of the few spam messages that get through the list
or either someone intentionally submitted a forged e-mail there.
Either way, SORBS is a total joke and nobody should ever use them. They
unilaterally blacklisted my /16 and there's zero change I'll ever get
delisted until I pay the $50 "extortion fee". Apparently the facts that
I've had the same IP for 5 years and that I publish SPF records don't
matter.
I laugh at the "Fighting spam by finding and listing Exploitable
Servers." title in their web page. Google for 'sorbs sucks', nice reads
:-)
If you want to filter spam you can use spamassassin (disablig the sorbs
and spews tests) and greylisting which works very well. SPF checks also
catch a few forged e-mails on my server (probably virus-generated but
spam nonetheless.)
Cheers,
-- Miguel Mendez <flynn@energyhq.es.eu.org> http://www.energyhq.es.eu.org PGP Key: 0xDC8514F1
- application/pgp-signature attachment: stored
- Previous message: Mark Ovens: "Re: Booting FreeBSD-5.3 from NTLDR"
- In reply to: Erik Norgaard: "mx2.freebsd.org in dnsbl.sorbs.net"
- Next in thread: Erik Norgaard: "Re: mx2.freebsd.org in dnsbl.sorbs.net"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
Relevant Pages
|