RE: mx2.freebsd.org in SORBS, AGAIN!

From: Ted Mittelstaedt (tedm_at_toybox.placo.com)
Date: 02/15/05

  • Next message: *** Hoogendijk: "Re: Anthony"
    To: "Matt Emmerton" <matt@gsicomp.on.ca>, "Adi Pircalabu" <apircalabu@bitdefender.com>, <freebsd-questions@freebsd.org>
    Date: Tue, 15 Feb 2005 04:43:42 -0800
    
    

    > -----Original Message-----
    > From: Matt Emmerton [mailto:matt@gsicomp.on.ca]
    > Sent: Tuesday, February 15, 2005 4:06 AM
    > To: Ted Mittelstaedt; Adi Pircalabu; freebsd-questions@freebsd.org
    > Subject: Re: mx2.freebsd.org in SORBS, AGAIN!
    >
    >
    > > > On Sat, 12 Feb 2005 03:18:17 -0800
    > > > "Ted Mittelstaedt" <tedm@toybox.placo.com> wrote:
    > > >
    > > > > A spammer is forging several of SORBS spamtrap e-mail
    > > > > addresses on their outgoing spams. The spams hit freebsd.org
    > > > > which of course is bouncing them back to the sender, which
    > > > > is in this case is the spamtrap e-mail addresses. This
    > > > > triggers the SORBS autolisting.
    > > >
    > > > Well, in this case, how about avoiding bounces completely?
    >
    > Better yet, why doesn't SORBS clean up it's act and only
    > accept bounces for
    > messages that were sent by their systems?

    SORBS doesen't send messages. Your thinking of ORBS which probes
    submitted mailservers to detect relaying. SORBS is like most
    other blacklists in that it uses spamtraps.

    The solution is for SORBS to determine which ones of their spamtrap
    e-mail addresses is being forged, then replace them with different
    spamtraps.

    Ted
    _______________________________________________
    freebsd-questions@freebsd.org mailing list
    http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions
    To unsubscribe, send any mail to "freebsd-questions-unsubscribe@freebsd.org"


  • Next message: *** Hoogendijk: "Re: Anthony"