strange msg lines..

From: Ian Smith (smithi_at_nimnet.asn.au)
Date: 11/17/05

  • Next message: db: "Re: Monitoring a program"
    Date: Fri, 18 Nov 2005 05:01:49 +1100 (EST)
    To: *** hoogendijk <***@nagual.st>
    
    

    Re: freebsd-questions Digest, Vol 113, Issue 12
    > Message: 28
    > Date: Wed, 16 Nov 2005 23:56:06 +0100
    > From: *** hoogendijk <***@nagual.st>

    > I get a lot of these rules in my log file lately. Don't know why they
    > are not logged in the error.log file. And if they are harmful or not.
    >
    > ==--==
    > 83.30.48.99 - - [16/Nov/2005:23:44:18 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200
    > 1860 "http://puttane-grandi-tette.com" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE
    > 6.0b; Windows NT 5.0; .NET CLR 1.0.2914)"

    > 85.106.229.37 - - [16/Nov/2005:23:44:24 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200
    > 1860 "http://hosting-siti-adulti.com" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE
    > 6.0b; Windows NT 5.0; .NET CLR 1.0.2914)"

    [.. etc ..]

    I've seen Dinesh's reply, and your later response, but I've seen batches
    of these at various times too, and think it's something other than DNS
    (though it did look like maybe a test of a distributed fetch, many IPs)

    > These are not normal requests to my apache server. But it seems to
    > "listen" to them. Am I 'in danger?'

    No, they're not errors, they're just requests for your home page (GET /)
    which is presumably 1860 bytes .. the Referer (sic) in each case is one
    of these apparent porn sites, but could easily be forged - it's unlikely
    that the pages at the URLs given do in fact have any link to your site;
    more than likely they want you go check out their stuff looking for one!

    So there's no danger involved, unless there are enough of them to DoS
    your server. I tend to deal with such as these by blocking them in
    apache|httpd.conf so they just get a 403 access denied response, eg:

     # 1/3/5 multiple browsers, multiple IPs, all the same referrer:
     SetEnvIfNoCase Referer buy-vicodin-online\.us go_away

    or in this other case, various different GETs attempting to access
    various porn URLs as wannabe proxy requests, all from the one IP:

     # 6/10/5 porn link referers regularly, different browsers ..
     SetEnvIf Remote_Addr 209\.172\.35\.44 go_away

    In your case, the browser identification, most likely bogus, is a common
    factor in each, and could be blocked with such as:

    BrowserMatch "Mozilla/4\.0 \(compatible; MSIE 6\.0b; Windows NT 5\.0; \.NET CLR 1\.0\.2914\)" go_away

    or some unique part of that string. whereas others as above will cycle
    through different browser strings - there's usually some common thread
    to such bot-made requests. I only hit on them when they become annoying
    (but sometimes I'm easily annoyed :)

    Then of course you'd need something along the lines of:

    <Directory "/usr/local/www/data">
      [.. other stuff ..]
      # 18Mar02 - allow only this file to otherwise denied bots
      <Files "robots.txt">
        order allow,deny
        allow from all
      </Files>
      order allow,deny
      allow from all
      deny from env=go_away
    </Directory>

    Cheers, Ian

    _______________________________________________
    freebsd-questions@freebsd.org mailing list
    http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions
    To unsubscribe, send any mail to "freebsd-questions-unsubscribe@freebsd.org"


  • Next message: db: "Re: Monitoring a program"