Re: Cost of process creation on Unix

From: Martin P.J. Zinser (zinser_at_zinser.no-ip.info)
Date: 10/18/03


Date: Fri, 17 Oct 2003 20:20:19 -0500

John E. Malmberg wrote:
> Martin P.J. Zinser wrote:
>
>>
>> Same over here, Comcast just delivers the bits and an IP address, the
>> rest is handled via a small router and my VMS system. And having a
>> look at the various logs I think trying to defend a Windows system in
>> such a setup would be more a less a full time job (and most probably
>> futile in the end ;-)
>
>
> And both comcast.net and sympatico.ca have submitted the addresses that
> you and JF Mezei are using to be blocked as dynamically supplied
> addresses to any mail server or blocking list operators that ask them.
>
> http://informatie.easynet.nl/error/errors.html#dynablock
>
> The easynet.nl page references the AUP for both networks that states
> that no mail servers are allowed on either network.
>
> Comcast has an exception for specific rDNS addresses.
>
> To look up your I.P. address in the dynablock list and others, you can
> use the moensted.dk link. Read the disclaimer. Some of the lists will
> list an entire subnet on the first sign of spam and never remove it.
>
> So being in some lists is almost meaningless.
>
> http://www.moensted.dk/spam
>
> If you are running your own mail server and you are in the dynablock
> list, it means that your ISP is saying that your I.P. address is subject
> to change with out notice and/or you are not allowed to run a mail server.
>
> If that is incorrect, then you should contact your ISP to get them to
> stop listing your IP as a dynamic one and get the dynablock listing
> corrected.
>
> My broadband ISP in their internal newsgroups says that they are getting
> the dhcp ranges from the other consumer ISPs and putting them in their
> local blocking lists, and that they are providing their DHCP ranges to
> them in return. The information in the dynablock.easynet.nl is probably
> a good indication of what your ISP is providing to other ISPs.
>
> Note that the dynablock.easynet.nl list is not a list of I.P.s that sent
> spam, it is a list of IPs that your ISP has identified as not to ever be
> sending e-mail and are OK to preemptively block.
>
> Easynet.nl states that they are willing to remove any I.P. address that
> should not be in it when your ISP requests it.
>
>
> -John
> wb8tyw@qsl.network
> Personal Opinion Only
>
Well, I do run an SMTP server and it does work pretty well (once I
fiugred out smtp.config). The only addresses I ever had problems sending
mail to where from AOL and honestly speaking, who wants to talk to them
anyhow ;-)

Sending mail to hp does work :-)

Greetings, Martin

P.S. If you know of a good and cheap provider with a static service I am
open to suggestions.