Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- From: "Steve M. Fabac, Jr." <smfabac@xxxxxxx>
- Date: Wed, 05 Mar 2008 13:57:08 -0600
Bill Campbell wrote:
On Wed, Mar 05, 2008, Steve M. Fabac, Jr. wrote:I'm flooded with returned messages from e-mail servers
bouncing spam messages where the spammer uses fake "From:"
tags with random names on my 24by7webstores.com site:
"From: "Mort tikkanen" <Mort-vorhies@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>"
You should be able to build the current version of whois on SCO
systems without much problem.
Is there a command string to whois that will accept an IP address
and return something that looks like this?:
(Asked whois.apnic.net:43 about 117.11.60.63)
inetnum: 117.8.0.0 - 117.15.255.255
netname: CNCGROUP-TJ
descr: CNC Group Tianjin province network
descr: China Network Communications Group Corporation
descr: No.156 Fu-Xing-Men-Nei Street
descr: Beijing 100031
country: CN
admin-c: CH455-AP
tech-c: HZ19-AP
remarks: service provider
mnt-by: APNIC-HM
mnt-lower: MAINT-CNCGROUP-TJ
mnt-routes: MAINT-CNCGROUP-RR
status: ALLOCATED PORTABLE
remarks: --------------------------
remarks: This object can only be updated by APNIC hostmasters.
remarks: To update this object please contact APNIC
remarks: hostmasters and include your organisation's account
remarks: name in the subject line.
remarks: --------------------------
changed: hm-changed@xxxxxxxxx 20070525
source: APNIC
route: 117.8.0.0/13
descr: CNC Group CHINA169 Tianjin Province Network
country: CN
origin: AS4837
mnt-by: MAINT-CNCGROUP-RR
changed: abuse@xxxxxxxxxxx 20070525
source: APNIC
role: CNCGroup Hostmaster
e-mail: abuse@xxxxxxxxxxx
On the other hand, dealing with idiots who don't control the
blowback resulting from forge From and Sender in spam, is
generally a waste of your time and effort (a good bit of what I
see here if from Barracuda boxes, and I don't know whether that's
the default setting on current Barracudas).
Bill, I welcome the bounced messages. It give me a chance to submit
them to the ISP's where the open relays or spammer's lurk.
As I indicated to Boyd, I am angered by someone cloaking their
spam as from my domain. Unstopped, they will eventually result
in my domain being added to rbl so I'll have to take action
to have my site removed from the black list.
Is it possible that your web site has a vulnerable formail.pl
script (are there any non-vulnerable ones :-) so the messages are
actually being sent through the web server?
No, examination of the bounced messages headers show the
originating IP addresses of the spam. I collect all messages
identified by originating IP address and then submit them
to the ISP for the IP address.
...
Bill
--
INTERNET: bill@xxxxxxxxxxxxx Bill Campbell; Celestial Software LLC
URL: http://www.celestial.com/ PO Box 820; 6641 E. Mercer Way
FAX: (206) 232-9186 Mercer Island, WA 98040-0820; (206) 236-1676
Liberals love to say things like, 'We're just asking everyone to pay
their fair share.' But government is not about asking. It is about telling.
The difference is fundamental. It is the difference between making love and
being raped, between working for a living and being a slave.
Dr. Thomas Sowell, Forbes, July 1994
--
Steve Fabac
S.M. Fabac & Associates
816/765-1670
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- From: Boyd Lynn Gerber
- Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- From: Bill Campbell
- Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- References:
- Need automatic spam reporting tool
- From: Steve M. Fabac, Jr.
- Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- From: Bill Campbell
- Need automatic spam reporting tool
- Prev by Date: Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- Next by Date: Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- Previous by thread: Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- Next by thread: Re: Need automatic spam reporting tool
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|